Amarillo ISD announces Teachers of the Year

During the Lamar Lively Teacher of the Year Breakfast on Friday, the Amarillo ISD named Kathie Glover, Elementary Teacher of the Year and Shawn Kennedy, Secondary Teacher of the Year.

These district Teachers of the Year are symbolic of the quality educators in the Amarillo community. “You represent the best of the best. I love the opportunity to visit your classrooms and see where the real work happens,” Superintendent Dr. Dana West told the campus winners and district finalists.

With nearly 2,300 teachers employed by AISD, the job of representing them all as Teacher of the Year is of great honor.  “Our district Teachers of the Year are shining examples of the caliber of teaching professionals in AISD who are dedicated to delivering quality instruction in a caring environment every day,” said Program Director for Community Partnerships Denise Blanchard.

Elementary Teacher of the Year Kathie Glover is known for her creative use of learning stations to develop independent thinkers in her students as a science teacher at Olsen Park Elementary.

Secondary Teacher of the Year Shawn Kennedy, an art teacher at Caprock High School, is known for his out-of-the-ordinary classroom called “Studio 504.”

Campus teachers of the year were accompanied by their school administration to the breakfast. Each teacher recognized received a glass block and poster symbolic of their accomplishment at the campus level.

Both of Amarillo ISD’s teachers of the year will go on to compete for Region 16 Teacher of the Year, announced in August.

Teacher of the Year Elementary Finalists:

Robyn Routh, Third Grade Math Teacher at Emerson Elementary School

Anna Langford, Fifth Grade Science Teacher at Sunrise Elementary

Teacher of the Year Secondary Finalists:

Jo Lyn Brown, Art Teacher at Tascosa High School

Sarah Burton, AEP Science Teacher--Grades Six - 12 at North Heights Alternative School

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.